Ten Years Ago, Today

Us at Coke MuseumAfter Christmas, 2003, I sat in the office in my parents’ home and listened, receiver pressed to my ear, as the phone rang on the other end. I was nervous to say the least. This girl had never seen or heard of me. I was calling her out of the blue on the day after christmas because a mutual friend said I should. This is STUPID, I am hanging up…”Hello? Oh, hi…my name is Josh….”

We would date, long-distance, for 1½ years before we were married in June 2005. I am not sure where I would be today without her. If I had hung up, what would, or wouldn’t have happened? That girl and I would talk every single day since that night…including this morning at breakfast as she tried to corral our four littles.

The lesson is this: If you are apprehensive about a decision, relational or not, be willing to risk rejection and hurt. Sometimes one phone call can change your life forever! It did for me. I love you, Amy.

Us Vacation Va Beach - Version 2

2 thoughts on “Ten Years Ago, Today

  1. Love it! I met and married my husband within six months of meeting him – ON LINE! Our paths never would have crossed in real life. We just celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary! 😀

Leave a Reply

