Dutch Oven Pot Roast

When my brother and I moved out on our own in college, I had to learn to cook or live on Ramen for a year. I chose to cook. The first thing I did was get a slow cooker and make a pot roast with carrots and potatoes. It was heaven (compared to the pizza and burgers we had been living on)! As I have grown as a cook, though, my pot roast stayed the same…pretty blasé. The problem with the slow cooker, in my estimation, is the time it takes to cook and the overabundance of moisture it encourages. I always end up with soggy, bland meat and almost tasteless vegetables.

Enter my new (100 year old) Griswold cast iron Dutch Oven.

Instead of cooking for 10 hours, I cooked my roast on Sunday for barely over 4. The simple directions are below. Hope you try it and enjoy!

You need:

1 Roast (cut of your choice; I prefer Chuck Roast)

2 large Potatoes

4 large Carrots

1 Onion

Salt

Pepper

Olive oil

1 Packet of McCormick Pot Roast Seasoning

Directions:

Rub the roast with Olive oil and Salt/Pepper and sear on all sides in the dutch oven (about 4 min/side over medium-high heat) Remove the roast and put the Seasoning mix into the leftover fat. Whisk until well combined. Slowly add enough beef stock to cover the bottom of the Dutch oven and whisk vigorously until a thick gravy is achieved. Place the Roast back in the pot and place in the oven for 2 1/2 hours on 350°

After the first cook, place half of your carrots and potatoes on the bottom and stir to cover in the gravy. (add water or stock if necessary) Place roast in the center on top of the vegetables. Use remaining vegetables to fill in around the sides (like an insulation against the pan). Drizzle more olive oil over the vegetables and roast. Sprinkle lightly with salt and pepper. Roast for one more hour. DO NOT PEEK, JUST LEAVE IT ALONE! Remove from oven allow to rest for ten minutes before slicing.

7 thoughts on “Dutch Oven Pot Roast

  1. Pingback: Our friend Josh Savage’s pot roast « iconobaptist

Leave a Reply

