My Weight Loss Journey – by Mary Martin

I had breast cancer four years ago.  Although I have spent a career as a naval officer, my weight had crept up just prior to my diagnosis and the steroids given to me with my chemotherapy caused me to balloon an additional forty pounds.  I spent the next three and a half years trying to figure out how to lose my excess weight as painlessly as possible.  I tried various things, but never stuck with anything for long.  I was beginning to wonder whether I could become a candidate for bariatric surgery and just give up trying to control my weight by way of diet and exercise.

I eventually remembered that I had previously lost fifty pounds via portion control (about fifteen years ago) and had actually kept it off successfully for around a year and a half, until I slid back into sloppy old habits of consuming large portions of whatever caught my eye.

I had been on Weight Watchers, off and on, ever since.  I am what is called in Weight Watcher lingo a “repeat offender.”

I determined that, on January 1 of 2012, I was going to go back on the Weight Watchers plan and really, truly observe it 100% until I lost my weight.  I was aware that 40 years of Weight Watchers research has rendered the program pretty much foolproof.  If you do it, you lose weight.  If you say you’re doing it and cheat, you either stay the same or gain weight.

I decided to use my daily points and that is all.  No use of weekly bonus points except very occasionally in extremis.  And no use of exercise points, except to accumulate them and lose more quickly by not eating their value in extra food.

That first month, I lost almost 20 pounds.  Each subsequent month, I have averaged a ten pound loss.  So it is that, in early June, I am just now arriving at a 60 pound weight loss.

I exercise once or twice a week.  I am not a great influence in the exercise area, but that is the next step I would like to take, as I realize that I am on a journey that will last the rest of my life.

Everyone is different, which is why Weight Watchers is so great.  Some choose a slower, more gradual loss and some of us just want to see a lot of weight come off right away.  I will say that I have never been hungry, as fruits and most veggies are zero points.  It is possible to eat a zero point day and still be full.  I have never done that, but I have had a day where my exercise points were higher than the number of points I ate (on a ski/snow tubing trip).  That felt fantastic!

I am committed to this weight loss (and maintenance) program for the rest of my life.  Research is showing that cancer has more of a tie to excess weight than we once thought.  So do many other diseases.  I want to be here for my family for the long run.  God is in control and I am not afraid of cancer or death, but I just want to be a good player on God’s team, not putting Him in a position where I expect Him to rescue and preserve me from my own bad choices.

Weight Watchers is an awesome program.  God bless, everyone!

Around Christmas, 2011 Before I started WW.

5 thoughts on “My Weight Loss Journey – by Mary Martin

  1. Pingback: Do You Sneak??? | Lara: On the Weigh Down

  2. Good Job! You look great! After my third child was a year old, I did Weight Watchers and lost 40lbs. I kept that off for 6 years, until I had my last child. Now he’s two months old and I have 17 more lbs to lose. We can do it!

    • Thanks, Tara! Yes, we can do it! I am so glad the program is tailored to each of us as an individual. I just read Lara’s blog entry (above) and noted that she is saying much the same thing. It only has to work for *us* not for everyone who wants a vote in what we eat! LOL!

  3. Pingback: Repost from my friend Josh’s blog, since many of you are asking me about the weightloss « iconobaptist

Leave a Reply

