Italian Beef Lentil Stew

So, I’ve started a diet. However, my hubby and kids don’t need a diet. I need to expand my repertoire of recipes to be healthier and conducive to weight loss. But I don’t want my family’s tastebuds to suffer. So, I’ve decided to do a lot of experimenting over they course of the next few months. If it tastes like “diet food” it won’t make it to this blog or to my recipe box. So, here goes! Wish me luck!

I tried this recipe this weekend. I put it together in the morning, and when we got home from church, the house smelled delicious, and lunch was piping hot and ready to eat. I love meals like this!

You need:

1 pound lean beef roast, cut into one inch cubes
1 (14oz) can diced tomatoes
1 large zucchini, diced
1 small onion, diced
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1 tablespoon tomato paste
3/4 cup dry lentils
4 cups beef broth
1/4 cup fresh basil, roughly chopped

Combine all ingredients, except for basil. Cook in a crock pot on low for 6-7 hours. Add basil. Stir well and replace the lid. Cook for an additional five minutes. Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Italian Beef Lentil Stew

  1. Joye, did you join Weight Watchers with the rest of your family? Good job! I want to encourage you, Joye, that after almost four months of Weight Watchers, nothing I have eaten tastes like diet food. In fact, many times I am stuffed (and skipping fewer meals than before). For example, yesterday I had to practice with the Ladies’ Group for our special before Sunday school but I made sure I sat down and ate three eggs with a piece of toast before I left. I used to just rush out the door with only coffee. See the big difference? And I have lost 49 (maybe 50 by this hour) pounds since January. The system works without anyone feeling deprived . You will find some very good things to cook while doing this.

    • Mary, thanks for your encouragement. One of the biggest drawbacks of going on a diet for me is the fact that I absolutely LOVE to cook. Diets I’ve been on previously have definitely thrown a “wet blanket” on that hobby. I’ve had fun trying new recipes this time around.

Leave a Reply

