Four Hour Body

 

It’s the morning of day eleven and I’ve gotten through my first full week including the binge day.  I’ve had eggs every morning for breakfast, adhered precisely to the plan, and have seen some results.  It’s been an interesting experience.

Weight Lost / Inches Lost

First and foremost, I lost 14 pounds (as of today)     The day after the binge, I was up four pounds; It came back off within thirty-six hours.

The Diet

Automating your eating is nothing new.  As Ferriss points out in his book, most of us do it anyway; we have our “go-to” meals that we tend to prepare again and again.  There have been studies that show automating your eating can help with weight loss. What was different for me was a pretty big increase in protein, absolutely zero starches, and adding legumes.

I like legumes!

Oddly, the no starch thing turned out to be no big deal to me.  I was expecting to really crave them and I wasn’t.  I think it was the extra protein I was eating but I’m not sure.  I think I stayed 100% on diet!

  1. Slow Carb Diet (p72)
    1. The rules
      1. Avoid “white” carbohydrates
      2. Eat the same few meals over and over again
        (Adam: this is working great for breakfast and lunch)
      3. Don’t drink calories. No milk, soy milk, soft drinks, or fruit juice. Coffee & wine are OK.
      4. Don’t eat fruit. Tomatoes and avocados are OK.
      5. Take one day off per week. Eat whatever you want.
    2. Allowed foods
      1. Proteins:
        1. Egg whites with 1-2 whole eggs for flavor (or 2-5 whole organic eggs, including yolks)
          (Adam: I microwave my eggs for breakfast, add beans, sauerkraut, and salsa)
        2. Chicken breast or thigh
        3. Beef (preferably grass-fed)
        4. Fish
          (Adam: Should be eating more – I like fish. I do fish-oil supplements)
        5. Pork
      2. Legumes:
        1. Lentils (daal)
        2. Black beans
          (Adam: At first I didn’t like them, now I gobble them down)
        3. Pinto beans
        4. Red beans
        5. Soybeans
      3. Vegetables
        1. Spinach
        2. Mixed vegetables (including broccoli, cauliflower)
          (Adam: Incredibly, I’m eating lots of broccoli – but not much of the other vegetables listed here)
        3. Sauerkraut, kimchee
        4. Asparagus
        5. Peas
        6. Broccoli
        7. Green beans

 

The Binge

I look forward all week to binge day.  I was cruising along well, the scale was moving in the right direction, and I didn’t want to fall off the wagon and backslide into oblivion.  For breakfast I went to IHOP and got the stack of five pancakes and 4 strips of bacon. I ate about 2/3 of the pancakes and was overly-full. I couldn’t really eat again until 6:30pm. For dinner, I ate a 17″ Philly Cheesesteak! Sick, ugh….

So overall I was somewhere around 2,400 to 2,500 calories for the day.  Ferriss details a 9,000 calorie binge in his book and I don’t know how he did it.   I’m writing this two days before my next binge, and I’m fine with what I ate and I don’t feel cravings for anything.

Wrap-Up

So that’s my story.  Fourteen pounds (so far…still have two more diet days this week)

What do you think?  I realize this is a pretty long post, so if you read this far, thanks for sticking with me.  Please chime in if you’re doing this yourself and let me know what your results are.  I’m still not endorsing this yet, but I am hopeful.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

